Family meetings, a place called home and back to reality 

Family meetings . Nope not family reunions. Family meetings . No they don’t happen in a boardroom or necessarily at the dining room table . Nor do they involve relatives such as a great great grandmother from china. Nope . It’s a time when the entire family present is affected by a specific problem that need to come to a resolution unanimously . 

Nope your cousin isn’t getting disowned . Nor is anyone dying either …. I mean the kind of serious talk where the woolworths stopped selling the double cream milkshakes . Or the fact that your favorite restaurant moved several kilometers away … very depressing scenarios I know. I myself have been in these kind of situations. For instance when we had to make the life changing decision about switching from 1ply to 2ply paper. Like I said, changed my life. We recently had another one . This time slightly more serious . We decided to move . To an isolated area in Pretoria, far far away from everyone we know . Unsurprisingly my brother was the only one who had an issue. I totally understand though, I faced a similar situation around his age, it’s not so easy to leave friends and your comfort zone … nor is it easy to leave the 5 malls down the road . But in the end we settled on the same thing . Some damn peace and quiet. We have people building houses next to us on both sides opposite us and across the river from us . If not for my incredible ability to sleep through anything I don’t know how I would have survived. The point of this whole paragraph is not to complain… okay maybe a little #firstworldproblems. The point is that peace and quiet is underappreciated . Some good old fashioned R&R is important when going home. Home is your sanctuary. It can’t be chaotic and uncomfortable. Not to say that loud and busy family’s are not relaxing enough, some find that environment comfortable to them. It all depends on you. Coming home is kicking off the pants, throwing away the shoes (not in that order of course) and picking up the blanket and sliding right under . Where you feel no judgement aside from yourself . Wanna go outside in your orange fluffy nightgown? No worries ..The world understands . It’s YOUR home.  Find your space . Be yourself . Most importantly : buy noise cancelling headphones. 

While waiting for my textbooks these two weeks I have been keeping myself occupied with a show called Hawaii five-O. I have to admit I am a little obsessed . Utterly and completely obsessed actually . It happens with a lot of shows actually. You know that feeling you get as if you know the characters and you live in that area they are in. It feels like a window to a different life . When watching it for 2 weeks straight those feelings are slightly inflated . As in I’m convinced I live in Hawaii, I have friends named Kono and Chin and I spend my weekends doing the hula with my friends on a beach … okay maybe the last one is a secret wish of mine (sad I know). But nevertheless it’s gonna be quite hard this weekend when I have to pick up my lovely textbooks on topics I kno nothing about and forget about my other life on the island of happiness. Wish me luck! 

Once again I’m sorry for my late post*nervously laughs*. 

*whispers* “I was in Hawaii….. ”

Ha! I wish. 

Anyways list for the weekend :

  1. Curb my online shopping habits (seriously it’s out of control, I think I’m taking too much of a liking to a lack of social contact when shopping … I love it) 
  2. Find out what I don’t know from my textbooks *circles everything
  3. Create schedule for the year *assigns 12 hours a day to sleep* 
  4. Make a new friend … I feel like I’ve been to anti social lately *glances at 10 pizza boxes under bed* 
  5. Cut down on Hawaii Five-O 

Ahhh now it looks like a fun week ahead ..

Alrighty the song for the week is : Waves by Dean Lewis . Personally  prefer guitar version. Beautiful lyrics, gorgeous voice and just an incredible song . Give it a try, it’s worth it . 

Movie for the week : don’t really have one actually … here’s another song : I love you baby, I love you doll by Parekh and Singh . They are an acquired taste I will admit but currently they are currently the song of choice to hula to in the shower (harder than it sounds) 

Quote for the week : Life is too short for words, so don’t try and describe it, just live it – C.S Lewis . Quote to live by really, came across it by accident this week . 

Have a lovely  week ahead everyone!

Signing out 

A Very Thoughtful Human

(With A Sudden Pie Craving) 

Leave a Reply

