Mind Your Own Biscuits and Give Me Back My Tea!….Please

The time has come once again where it’s so cold indoors that there is no need to worry about forgetting to put the cheese back in the fridge because the outside is a flippin freezer . Or that you’re on your third cup of cocoa and it’s only 3 in the afternoon . Down here in South Africa when it’s cocoa time means it’s cuddle up in blankets time . No Christmassy shit around here . While the entire northern hemisphere is off gallivanting in shortie shorts and an assortment of Miss Matched flip-flops we down here (yes even if it’s still Africa) are freezing our rosy butt cheeks off . Granted 8 degrees isn’t close to what Canada calls cold but down here … Trust me . We sure find a need to pull out the space heaters, hot packs and somehow rationalize drinking over 6 cups of tea,milo or cocoa to get us through our day. Forget about regular bedtime, ten pm? You must be joking. Cus the sun sets early? Well then damn! So do we!
It’s like the entire normal living routine shifts .On a normal summer evening i would be fine with burning the midnight oil but in winter you can forget it my friend. Laziness and the need for that kind of warmth that suffocates you  just takes over … Mhmm . Never in my life do I have so much hot Chocolate as these three months … Ahh the fatter you are the less you feel cold . I’m just beefing up for warmth . If its good enough for bears and the walruses its good enough for me! Am I being convincing enough yet?

Yeah I’m not convincing myself either. This is why summer is hard for me. It’s a vicious cycle. as soon as we slim down for summer its time to fatten up for winter again. A damn shame I’m telling you.
Anyways while my tush is freezing under these layers of blankets I’ve succumbed to the laziness that I’ve just been talking about , I haven’t written at all . I have been reading, rewatching all the Disney movies and discovering new ways of stuffing a Panini . This is my way of coping with winter .
Anyone else got some good ideas how to pass time with a cup of tea?
You know that point in summer .. After you’ve hugged your sleeveless tops and sandals and you’re sick of shaving your legs every second day and the bugs and mosquitoes have bitten every inch of your skin. .. That moment where you suddenly miss your jackets and jerseys  and lets not forget the mismatched tracksuits(let’s be honest we all have a couple of pairs). You miss the warmth under the blanket, eating cookies by the fire and wearing tights socks and boots that make you appear inches taller than you already are(god knows I need those inches) .
Mhmm yeah? See a pattern? It’s amazing right? We only miss the good parts of every season . We don’t appreciate the weather when we have it . Kinda funny hey ! But right now if you’ll excuse me I have to go back to my hoard of blankets and superhero mugs filled with hot chocolate with little marshmallows like the grown up woman that I am.

Lesson learnt today : Wear a T-Shirt with the words “ I AM A FULLY GROWN ADULT : OVER 18” printed out cus clearly people aren’t getting the message. I was approached for the 110th time today when someone asked me in the mall whether my mom was looking for me or if I was looking for her. When I got over the fact that I was indeed hearing correctly and I asked her how old she thought I was she said fourteen … Not bad actually, the average with meeting strangers is twelve, I kid you not people still offer me kiddies menus. They say when I’m forty I’ll appreciate it. So yeah I’ll stop complaining in roughly 20 years

Song of the week : Biscuits by Kacey Musgraves. Yep Mind your own biscuits people. The perfect song for your nosey neighbors and your gossipy coworkers.  Great way to subtly give the hint is to flip it to full volume whenever they start talking. Works every time and its way more convenient  than carrying around a blender full of ice to plug-in. It’s also better than spitting in their coffee or having your dog take a dump in their yard every morning.

Quote of the week : “Spring passes and one remembers one’s innocence. Summer passes and one remembers one’s exuberance. Autumn passes and one remembers one’s reverence. Winter passes and one remembers one’s perseverance.”– Yoko Ono. Something to think about actually, if you will excuse me I’m going to persevere to my warm bed after this… I joke… okay not really.. But on a serious note it is something to think about, the seasons bring back all sorts of memories and feelings, sit back and enjoy the ones from winter for now southern hemisphere ….

Goodnight to all . Signing out.

A Fluffy Penguin With Socks 

(And a kettle boiling as we speak)

Leave a Reply

